The Best Decision I Ever Made

I’ve been thinking about this a lot lately. Other than marrying my husband, WLS has undoubtedly been the best decision I’ve ever made.

Will it always be? I have no idea. Things may happen, life goes by, big events come and go– but for the past year and 3 months, WLS has been the best decision I could have made for my lifestyle and health. I feel capable, strong, active, healthy, confident and cute. I feel like I can do anything I want to do.

I could even ride a horse again!

Was my weight keeping me from doing anything I wanted to do? Maybe. A little. I had health and mobility issues that were keeping me from that rush of happiness when taking a long walk or riding my bike, and I didn’t want to feel that way forever. I’m still not completely in shape, but I’m in a shape that makes me feel less like driving around for hours to find the closest spot so I wouldn’t be panting my way to the store, and instead parking and walking and getting on with my life. I feel like those physical and mental barriers have been slightly lifted, both by my choice and by surgery.

I’m so happy about where I am. The weight is still coming off, though very slowly, but I feel like progress beyond the scale is being made, and I’m super happy about that. I just rang-in my 30th year, and I’m hoping for another 100 to keep this feeling going.

Leave a comment