Squash: A Tutorial

Winter squash are arguably my favorite vegetables. Now that the weather is changing and you’re seeing more of these delicious beauties in stores, I thought I’d give a short tutorial on my favorite way to prepare butternut squash.

A friend of mine recently stated her frustration at getting the skin off of a roasted butternut squash. Here’s a really super simple way to roast your squash without worrying about getting the skin off, and the results are perfect nearly every time.

First, wash your squash (yes, even though I take the skin off, I still give it a good rinse!). Then take your squash and a good vegetable peeler and peel the skin off. You may have to make two or so passes every time to get it off, but the skin is relatively thin and should come off easily.

Next, cut off the ends of your squash. Some people do this before peeling, but I like to make sure I get as much squash as possible, so I do this after I peel.

(next, take a picture of your sleeping corgi…)

Cut your squash in half, then using a small spoon, scoop out the seeds and stringy bits. I could do this with my hands, but I find a spoon makes quicker work and keeps my hands clean!

Next, chop your squash. I’m making a butternut squash salad, so I want roughly 3/4″ cubes. Depending on your use, you could go smaller or larger.

Next, use a small drizzle of olive oil and a healthy pinch of salt (omit the salt if you’re doing a sweeter version). I do as little oil as possible just to coat. Too much oil yields soggy pieces, and I want mine roasted yet still firm for my salad. Be sure to use a pan large enough that each piece gets it’s own space– too small will not allow the pieces to roast evenly (I am very often guilty of this!).

I throw mine into a 450 degree oven for approximately 20-30 minutes, checking and stirring as it cooks.

And there you go! Delicious, sweet, yummy roasted butternut squash! Great for salads, sides, soups, pies– whatever you’d like!

3 responses to “Squash: A Tutorial

  1. Thanks for that. Excellent approach to prep. It saves a lot of waste and looks pretty straightforward. I like to put a good deal of black pepper on before roasting. It helps bring out those nutty, sweet flavours that are in every squash.

  2. Well, you sure did make that look easy!! I’m putting one on my shopping list. Thanks, Erin!

  3. Not only does the squash look fantastic but look at that puppy! So friggin cute!!!

Leave a comment